December 11, 2002
5:28 PM

December Musings


I realize now that the little song parts I wrote on that Florida vacation are about a year old. Now I can understand why it takes some artists forever to put out a solo album. Craig's interesting to work with and all, but I think I really need to hook up with a SONG WRITER. I'm not too concerned with which instrument they have proficiency in (just no bass players; I already have that part covered if needed). But SOME knowledge of music theory, even at the most basic level, is a must. Hell, even most music listeners knows the difference between a "verse" and a "chorus". Also, some sense of timing. It doesn't have to be metronome perfect, but at least the imperfections shouldn't be horribly noticable.

But from where I am right now, I DO think that technology can help. I listen to those Residents albums, and I know that my one little electric box still can't match up to something like that. I need to check out some modules. You know, those racks that contains tons and tons of different sounds, and you just have to hook up a device like a keyboard (or drum machine, in my case) to hear them and play with them. Maybe this vacation will be another song-writing extravaganza, but with more satisfactory results.

Anyway, I'm almost done with holiday shopping. I'm not feeling so "giving" as I've been in previous years. Bah-fucking-Humbug! This time I'm just sticking with the immediate family, sending out that Disneyland thing to "arbus", and getting stuff for Gloria. Actually, I suppose there's Craig too (he keeps insisting that he wants to throw that late birthday party for himself, I've waited long enough for a JUNE birthday, so I told him that I'm giving him his birthday presents as Solstace gifts). I'm just getting sick of giving to friends who never give back, and Nancy's elaborate parties to get around the fact that everybody else is broke. Nice ideas, but I'd rather drop my involvement all together. As for Gloria, her birthday is right around the Solstace, but I'm not going to jip her. She gets one great holiday present, plus several birthday presents.

And damnit, I'm hitting the ski slopes this year. It's been too long.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>