March 21, 2003
4:33 PM

Another Boring Babbling Bass Quest Tale


I picked up my paycheck today for X dollars. And the Warwick bass guitar I did have in mind was about X dollars too. Oh, the temptation!

I packed up my basses and that old effects rack of mine last night, but it was getting too late to go to the music store. I packed Schwartz (the Ibenez fretless), and the white Jackson CA5 5-string. Then I packed up Big Red, my first bass.

Do I really want to sell my first bass though? That's the dilemna I kept dwelling on. There was really only one thing holding me back: the nostalgic value. Actually, it's not my very first bass. The first one I played was my dad's. Then he got me my own one year. So it is MY first bass. We looked at different ones in the store that day, and while I was willing to settle for something under $200, this is the one he bought me. It was the best out of the 3 I was thinking of buying. I played this though most of my bass lessons from my first instructor, and all of them from my second instructor. I played this bass in jazz ensemble in highschool and college. I played my very first show with this bass, plus most of the shows that followed, including all the ones with my last band. It's really just a descent Fender copy. Red body, black pickguard, one passive pickup, one volume knob, one tone knob, 4 strings. I added a hipshot D-tuner and a little window decal of my fraternity letters, but other than that it's remained pretty unchanged.

But I rarely play it these days. I don't even play every day any more, and when I do, it's invariably one of my other basses. So should I trade it in? Well, this is how I finally rationalized my decision: If I was to trade it in, how much would I actually get for it? $100? Maybe $200 tops? Is such a comparatively low amount worth trading it? Nope! So I'm keeping it. And maybe with all the fretlesses and 5-strings I'll have, it might be good to have a good ol' fretted 4-string around. Though what I really need right now is a full field day to just drive around guitar stores. If I'm going to spend over $1000 on an instrument, I might not want to limit my choices to what 3 local stores have in inventory.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>