March 05, 2003
10:21 PM

Bitch layoff liquidation sale! Everything must go!


We were told Molly was going to come back and work 2 last weeks. No sign of her. No surprise.

The first thing I notice is how much brighter this entire side of the floor is. The team sits by the windows, which means -- in an unwritten sense -- that we control most of the light for the rest of our cubicle neighbors. Molly always insisted on keeping the blinds by her window closed. Always. It drove Harry nuts. His cube shared some of her window, and he just wanted to be able to look up and see something other than a wall. Even just opening the vertical blinds a mere 10 degrees was forbidden. And of course, when there was a dispute, Molly would go crying home to our manager Kole. And Kole, being the total unprofessional pushover that she is when it comes to her princess Molly, would tell Harry to keep the blinds closed. The rest of us said to Harry "I'd go to HR if it were me." But he wouldn't do it. I admire the fact that he isn't a whiner, but he shouldn't be afraid to stick up for himself in cases like this.

Anyway, that's all gone now. The blinds are WIDE open! As for my window, I never really came to truly appreciate it until January. Now I find myself standing up every couple of hours, looking out. Just standing there and staring out. It's good to do once in a while. Who'd ever think that standing and staring out a window felt so great.

Now that Molly's gone, we started raiding her cube. All the shit that this company bought for her was there. I used to call it the "NASA Center" when she was still working here. Anita replaced her 15" monitor with the big 17" that Molly used to use. She was VERY happy. "Anybody need a monitor stand?" "Hey," I said to her, "I could use that!" I'm using it now, and it's the perfect height. Before this my monitor "stand" was a group of 4 discarded company VHS cassettes in hardshell cases, bound by scotch tape.

What else did she have? I saw her special ergonomic chair, special tiny keyboard with special ergonomically-angeled tray (mechanically installed into the desk by somebody else), a hands-free phone adapter, two "hands-free mouse" pedals, a special ergonomically shaped track ball mouse, a special reflective hangable computer light (which resembled a Barbie doll-sized tanning booth), about 15 hoarded and unlabeled floppy disks (so THAT'S where they all went!), two regular mouses hidden away, and TWO CPUs. We looked into her overhead cabinet and found no less than 3 additional keyboards (including the original wireless one she insisted on), a wireless mouse, and a PC switch box. I mean, what the fuck did she need all this shit for? Even the fancy stuff can't be all for carpel tunnel syndrome. She's a fucking hypocondriac. As Daisy pointed out "Yeah, she can't type, but she can leave her desk to press buttons on the treadmill." As I said before, there are just too many things that don't add up.

But I did get a monitor stand out of the deal. And I unashamedly took one of the two fancy rulers she had too. I feel like a medieval peasant after the Black Death, who just ran out of the church with a golden throne.

Our director took us all out to lunch today. With the added traffic, the whole trip turned out to be 3 hours long! But damn, we deserved it for all the overtime we put in. I've even heard the director say on numerous occasions "We don't have enough FUN at this place!" With the exception of Kole, I'm sure the rest of us were glad that Molly -- the one who never put in extra effort and rightfully got canned for numerous reasons -- wasn't there.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>