March 03, 2003
10:15 AM

Pushing for 15 minutes, or being tapped for a scoop?


Julie was a bartender at The Station. I knew her because her husband was the singer of Holy Diver, the Dio tribute band I'd see all the time. I got to know that group rather well. Julie was working that night of the fire, but she's alive. When I thought of how the bar was on the opposite side of the main enterance (albeit not the long side), I did wonder about her getting out of there. But according to one friend, she was on Good Morning America and some other show! I like knowing that there's been national coverage of this, but I do have to wonder how many of these people I know are trying to get their "15 minutes of fame".

I see Kry mentioned in a number of news articles now. Actually, he's using his real name, David. I do kinda find that funny, since he hated going by anything other than "Kry" when he still had the band. And that's who I see on the news: Lovin' Kry! The band whose members I was calling up the day after the fire. The band that my band played a gig or two with. The band whose shows I went to and even taped on occasion. Holy Diver, for that matter, used pyrotechnics on occasion too. Which makes me wonder if I have any Station shows on tape.

Then again, maybe I shouldn't jump to the "grabbing 15 minutes" conclusion so fast. I'm sure SOMEBODY had to supply the material and information to the news stations about this.

I dropped a line to Kry, and reminded him that I taped a few of their shows. But after taking inventory, it looks like I just have one, their last east coast show at the Middle East club in Cambridge. It figures that only NOW does Lovin' Kry get the national press. A year AFTER they moved out to California then shortly broke up.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>