April 16, 2002
10:20 PM

All those damn diary rings


A lot of diaryland.com users join diaryrings, but never seem to talk about them. Maybe the names of them just speak for themselves. But I'd like to take one diary entry here to mention a few things about each of the diaryrings I've chosen to be on. When I was new to the site, I spent some time surfing around, and ended up joining a bunch of these.

Hell yeah I'm a guy!

I think anybody who reads my entries would know that there's very little, if anything, that I take shame in. This especially includes having been born with a penis. No, I don't use that as a lame excuse to be irresponsible or act with no class. I have no respect for those who blame their lack of self-control on their gender, ethnicity, or what not. But at the same time, I take no shame in coming from a zygote with a Y-chromosome. As I said in my details for adding "girls-suck" to my favorite diary list, I don't support outright sexism, but I hate double standards. Making sweeping generalizations about my gender is still sexism by definition, and I'm not afraid to defend attacks.

Longhair
Yep, I'm a man with long hair. I could get into the whole philosophy of reasons and symbolism for that, but I won't.

I am not a teen
Naturally I was a teen at some point in my life. But in some cases I think it's worth pointing out that I'm currently a self-supporting adult with a car and a career. That kind of nips any theories in the bud that the things I believe and do are part of some teen-angst phase.

The Pro-Choice Ring
I hate getting into abortion debates. It's just such a trite, overused topic of discussion that never seems to go anywhere. But I do believe that abortion should be kept legal, mainly because I believe that making it illegal is just going to cause more problems. So by definition, I'm Pro-Choice. But spare me the debate. If I wanted to debate the subject, I'd go to a message board.

The Police Fans
The Def Leppard Diaryring

These are two bands that I've been a fan of since grammar school. The diaryland profiles only let you list up to 5 bands, so I figured that joining rings like this would allow me to express my enthusiasm for additional bands.

Butt Rockers Unite!
This was a general glam metal fan ring. I could answer all the question the ringmaster required, so I figured "what the heck".

I am not a goth
I wear black a lot, and I like some eerie music. But I just don't identify with the label of "goth". It's not out of some self-righteous I'm-too-good-for-labels crap. I simply don't think I fit the stereotype in enough places. For starters, I have good self-esteem, I'm a proud fraternity alumni, and I'm on the Def Leppard diaryring.

Hedonist Diaryring
It goes with the religion.

I know how to spell.
Good spelling, punctuation, and grammar skills are things that I've taken some pride in having, in light of being a "math & science" guy. It seems to be so rare these days in the engineering world. And please don't confuse bad grammar with intended slang or fragments intentionally written to mimic speech. Ain't the same thing.

The Black Sabbath Diaryring
I am a Black Sabbath fan. I am not "an Ozzy fan who also likes that old band he used to be in." No, I am a long-time, big Black Sabbath fan. I have all of their albums. That means ALL of them, though every line-up change. And don't give me that shit about the original line-up being the only one that counts. Bullshit. I've debated with the best of 'em for years on that subject, so don't even try it.

The Marx Brothers Diaryring
It wasn't until this year that I finally got around to seeing one of their movies in its entirety. Damn, these guys were quite a multi-talented bunch. Check out the Random Groucho Marx Qutes Page.

"About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale"
I consider myself bisexual, but there are a few things worth mentioning here. First of all, it's one of those terms that can mean different things to different people, so you shouldn't jump to too many conclusions when somebody says "I am bisexual". Second of all, this wasn't a label I adopted immediately after my first homosexual experience. I think a number of people mistakenly do this. Somebody who's had both straight and gay experiences isn't necessarily bi. When it came to myself, I gave the term a lot of thought. And finally, this isn't some kind of forefront, flag-waving identity for me. That's why the ring is near the bottom of my list, with a title that says "Oh yeah, I'm around a 2 on the Kinsey Scale", instead of screaming "Bi and Proud!" It's just not one of those concepts that's crossing my mind a lot. But there you have it.

Massachusetts
Born, raised, happened to go to college, and still live somewhere in this state. I like having 4 seasons.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>