April 09, 2002
2:38 PM

George & the infamous blonde twins


I didn't get much sleep in the last two nights. I doubt it's solely due to the daylight savings change. I'm just always finding things to do as the night goes on. But today was much warmer. Aside from the incredibly heavy wind, it was perfect. For me, at least. No rain, and the temperature somewhere in the 60s. I like it when it's just cool enough to wear long pants and a sweatshirt. I was never a fan of tropical zones. I had to laugh at all those people in college who bitched that it was too cold. "Then why did you pick a school in New England?" These were usually the same people who said they hated math, yet decided to become engineering majors. Gee, that's brilliant career planning!

George was hiliarious last night, as always. This makes my 5th or 6th time seeing him live. He did a bunch of stuff from the new album, but also a lot of brand new stuff I hadn't heard, plus a set of some great shorts from the past. "Sometimes in a hotel they give you those little sewing kits. You know what I do? I sew the towels together! Sew the sheets to the drapes. Let 'em know you've been there! Sew a button on the lampshade." Some of his newer long segments were on the topics suicide, farts and the human social class, genital donors, and the first enema.

Meanwhile it looks as if my friend TE, who I saw at her and her husband's send-off party last Saturday, might be trying to play match-maker for her friend TR. I've known TR for a while, because she's TE's best friend. And like me, TR has been known to "play" with TE and her husband, who are swingers (I remember the four of us even planned an orgy at one point in time, but I digress). TR has also has been going out with TE's cousin for years, though I guess they've kept the whole swinging thing a secret from him. But TE says that he's more or less an irresponsible alcoholic, and that he and TR fight all the time, etc. She want to see if I can take TR to the club to see Johnny's band next month.

Now TR really gives an impression that she's complete bimbo, but I know that's not the case. Like TE, she is legally deaf. On top of that, she barely speaks, and doesn't know sign language that well. And I'm sure the big blonde hair doesn't help in this department. But she IMd me last month, and said more in the course of 5 minutes than all the words I ever heard her speak, combined, over the last 5+ years. So she can indeed hold a meaningful conversation.

Oddly enough the-woman-I'm-currently-dating told me that a female admirer at one of her shows asked her out for dinner. "And I said, 'Just dinner, right?'" (Yes, that quote is about her quoting her admirer. Pay attention to the punctuation, people.) That's fine with me; the key word here is "dating". Nothing's committed. My last couple of relationships took off and came crashing down just as fast, and I don't want that to happen. Not that I don't ever want to be in a relationship again, but it's been a while since I just DATED a few people instead of pouring all the romance out on the first lady I see. That's not swinging, that's not cheating -- it's dating. Anyway, maybe TR will be an opportunity for that. Maybe not. Who knows.

TE did give me a photo at Saturday's gathering, though. It was at one of the clubs in RI we'd go to see that local band we know. In the picture, I have an arm around TE and an arm around TR. All of us flashing our hands in the devil horns, o' course.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>