December 18, 2006
10:57 AM

"I still love you", she said


I heard my cell phone buzz from the next room. It was early Sunday afternoon, I was still sleeping. I opened the phone and saw a text message from her. "I still love you."

Jesus, she's not making this any easier, is she? I wasn't going to reply back. Tonight was the party. I'm out for a good time, not drama today. It's bad enough that I'm so behind at work and only have two days to go before I'm flying out to be stuck with the parents for a week for the holidays, then back for just two more days before I drive hundreds and hundreds of miles for New Year's.

So I went to the party, and had a great time. Of course I had an extra ticket. I called Rich, whose calls I hadn't returned in a while. Talked to him, and it turned out he wasn't planning on going. "I've got an extra ticket." So he came with me. I don't even want to think about the shit I'd have to hear if she heard I gave "her" ticket to him of all people. But it didn't matter.

I emailed her when I got back saying, "Oy veh...what am I gonna do wit' you? I guess this at least means we're on speaking terms." And I asked her about one of her new pics she put on her website, of an angel kissing a black horse. I knew what it was more specifically from, but asked where she found it.

Then I emailed her back:

> I actually found it on someones webpage, it speaks volumes..
> I named it the Cube...

To quote the Emerald City guardsman, "That's a horse of a different color."

> Im not expecting you to do anything with that, or me. I would
> just like to know though...
> Do you feel the same?

In some ways I do. But at the same time I'm trying my best to just let go and move on. I really, really want to move on with my life. Because I know we both deserve better, and can ultimately do better; we can each find somebody we're much more compatible with.

We can rave all we want about the mutual infatuation and mystical "connections", but the bottom line is that we just don't get along on a practical level. I've been down that road before and saw the same warning signs: things cycle between intimate and nasty, everything taken personally, making fun of my friends, always interrupting me, etc. I feel I can't be myself around you.

I'm never going to move in with somebody who wouldn't let me have something as personal as my altar in my own home. And I do not want children, let alone with somebody who I fear might try to use the existence of my own child to manipulate me into needlessly damning my own religion, severing friendships, or getting rid of other things in my life. I've seen too many men live "quiet lives of desperation", and I'm not going to let it happen to me.

As I said in my letter, I don't believe in the idea of a "soul mate". I don't believe that there's one person I'm predestined to be with, and that I only have a one-shot deal, nor that there's no opportunity to find somebody once I pass a certain age. My longest relationships were always those that started off slow; the fast ones always ended just as fast as they took off. I have no doubt in my mind that I can (and will) fall in love with somebody again, and namely with somebody I'm much more compatible with in more ways than one, and am completely comfortable being around. It's not necessarily going to be the next woman I see, but I know it can happen. Likewise, I know you can find a romantic, low-maintenance, spiritual, handsome man that you're happy to be with.

This has been hard on the both of us. We've both been crying. We've both had thoughts that wander back to each other as we each lie there alone in bed at night. But I can't continue with this. I still care about you enough to say: please, move on. As I said under your picture, "May you find happiness, angel."

[trapezoid]

"If you love someone, set them free." - Sting


�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>