November 15, 2005
12:08 PM

Hooked on Advice-Giving


Well, it looks like I've found another website to get addicted to. It's basically a site where users log in to either ask questions or post answers to those questions. They questions range from things like "What's your favorite flavor of..." all the way to "Help! I'm in big trouble here! What do I do?"

I've been on it for less than a month, and I've already posted over 700 answers. I found the site through an ad I clicked on from the website for the Boston Pheonix newspaper. And to think that I was initially going there to find out about clubs and other things happening in town, in an effort to get out of the house more. I know "ironic" is a word that people have been completely misusing since the 90s, but honestly, its true definition applies here.

I can see why the site is so popular. There are people, some decent and some completely clueless, who need to ask strangers for answers. There are some trolls who are just attention starved or need to hear answers just to validate conclusions they've already come to ("I think Muslims should all be deported. What do you think?"). Plenty of women who just have this compulsion to confess guilt. And of course, you find my type: the ones who believe they're smarter than the average internet nut, have insight and knowledge that most never think about, and have this burning desire to want to set these people straight.

Questioners get to rate the answers. Of course, like Amazon.com, people abuse the rating systems at times. Some base ratings off of what they WANT to hear, rather than what they SHOULD hear, or how honest or well-constructed an answer was.

I'll be posting some of these questions and responses here from time to time. Just a heads up for your readers. Thanks for listening.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>