March 25, 2002
6:10 PM

Two lists


List #1: Words and phrases that are NOT part of my vocabulary

1) cheesy

I usually find this word being applied to a lot of the music and movies that I like. It's used way too often, and is usually a sign of self-righteous I'm-so-cool-and-alternative bullshit. I fucking hate this term. Next time you hear somebody say "cheesy", ask them to define that term. Dare them to do so. If I want to call something tacky, dated, corny, or shitty, then those are the exact adjectives I'll use.

2) "That's da bomb!"

In 1997 my fraternity went so far as to title one of their parties "The Bomb". Just think that a mere 12 months before this, it would have meant the exact opposite: a failure. I didn't get it then, I don't get it now.

3) poop

I don't know, this word always bothered the hell out me for some unknown reason.

4) "Six of one, half dozen of the other"

This was cute the first 300 times I heard it from fellow geeks in the computer industry. But any idiom used more than 3 times in a two minute conversation sounds lame.

5) gay

I mean the use of this word as a synonym for "dumb" or "lame". Some men still sound like they're in the 6th grade. "Oh those sneakers are so gay." And I reply back to them: "What do you mean? That, like, the left shoes are only sexually attracted to other left shoes?" Hell, the term "gay" didn't even mean "homosexual" at first. But just when the gay community started to take the term and make it their own, some jackoff twit had to turn it around and make it a "bad" word. I officially knew the misuse of "gay" had reached incredible proportions when, while watching a movie ending with the cliche romantic scene of a man and woman kissing, somebody in the room said "That's so gay!" True story.

List #2: Specific brand names that too many Americans use, when they want to refer to a general item

Trademarked Brand NameGeneral Name
Kleenextissue
Q-tipcotton swab
Thermosvacuum bottle
Band-aidbandage
Popsicleice pop
Roller Bladesin-line skates (I just learned this yesterday!)
Xeroxphotocopy
Coke *cola
Screen Name (AOL)user name
Walkman (or Discman) **personal portable casette/CD player

* - As in "I'll have a Rum & Coke, please", because you never hear a bartender reply "Is Rum and PEPSI okay?"

** - I'm pretty sure these names are trademarked by Sony.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>