March 28, 2005
5:28 PM

Regarding Music Lists


Hey, I know! I'll make a useless post that just lists the CDs that are in the stack to my right.

- Yma Sumac, "Voice of the Xtabay"
- King Crimson, "The Compact King Crimson"
- Deep Purple, s/t
- Deep Purple, "Shades of Deep Purple"
- Anton LaVey, "Satan Takes a Holiday"

It kinda sucks that diaryland.com only allows you to list 5 favorites in music. But then again, maybe it forces people to try to be a bit more resourceful when it comes to listing. I'm sure there are some people who don't even list 5, and others who feel 20 isn't enough (and in the latter case, I would advise these people to reevaluate the meaning of the word "favorite"). I've seen some people just cram the band descriptions with just more band names. Maybe they ought to at least give us 10?

I'm somebody who's always been big into listing numerous bands. When I was a kid, I had to take no less than 30 cassette tapes with me when I was taken on some family vacation. The denim jacket of my teen years was filled with countless band names. The notebook covers were covered in band logos. Why do we feel so bad when we leave a band out?

Then there's the whole "desert island" question. If you could only take 10 albums with you, blah blah blah. Am I really going to be in a situation where that happens? An island with an endless supply of electricity? Isn't that a rather grand assumption?

But getting back to the act of LISTING bands. I find that these are the most boring threads to read on an on-line forum. "List" posts are good for ice breakers, when nobody seems to be posting anything. But these "What are you listening to right now?" or "List your 5 favorite [whatever band it is] songs" have really, really, got to go away at some point. It's purely masturbatory: people love to go to the thread, post, and leave. Nobody is really insterested in anybody's post outside their own.

Er...then again, does that apply to me and to journals in general, as a user here of an on-line journal service?

I could ponder these things futher, but like I said, this is a useless entry.

"There is nothing in the world more interesting to me than my orgasm, and nothing in the world less interesting to me than yours." - Dennis Miller

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>