March 18, 2005
1:45 PM

Martin Denny, RIP


Tears fill my eyes as I type this and listen to Bali Ha'i.

Martin Denny, the founker of tiki Exotica music, passed away on March 2nd at the age of 93.

http://the.honoluluadvertiser.com/article/2005/Mar/03/br/br03p.html

I had his mailing address, and never got around to writing him. I never thanked him for his beautiful music which myself and people of all generations continue to discover. I never thanked him for showing me that I can make the music I love without having to worry about the bullshit of forming a garage band. But I can at least be happy in knowing that others have told him similar testaments, and that he lived a long life. The Tiki God lives on in the music he left us.

Tonight I'll be raising my favorite Tiki mug in salute to Mr. Denny and the happiness his works have brought to my life.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>