March 22, 2002
9:18 PM

Personality Quizzes and Seasonal Dates


Taking a "what soft drink am I?" quiz, it turns out that I'm my favorite softdrink. Then I took a New Year's Resolution one for the hell of it.


You are the original and therefore very popular. You also have those really cool polar bears representing you. But you have a bad after taste.

Find your inner cola.


Take the What Should Your New Year's Resolution Be? Quiz


And on to meaningful subjects: dating through the seasons. The following is a post I made on a forum recently.

A question for you fellow singles:

Do you find your dating life changing with certain seasons? I mean for example, do you find yourself doing roughly more dating or having different lengthed relationships in one particular seas of the year, every year? Maybe you're going to college or have a job that changes during the seasons, and that effects how often you meet new people. Maybe you're in a band that plays more shows during the summer, and so you're meeting more potential dates though that. Or maybe the same patterns happen in the same seasons, with no apparent reason why.

I was thinking about this as I was posting to Ed's "Summer Plans" thread. For some bizarre reason, I never ever end up dating anybody during the summer. I have no idea why. Every year it's the same: autumn, dating. Winter, absolutely, in fact things usually get very serious with one person. Spring, yeah, I usually end up seeing somebody. Summer: nothing at all! I'm not so much disappointed over this as I am perplexed. It made some sense when I was going to college, because the non-summer months were when I was on campus, going to parties, etc., so there were way more social outlets. But these days I can't think of anything too different I do (or don't do) in the summer as opposed to the fall, and the pattern continues for me.

Weird stuff. Oh well. Maybe everybody in New England is just looking for a warm body to spend the cold seasons with. :)

Everybody who replied said it was the opposite for them. They had many more dates in the summer. One guy mentioned that he did more stuff outside during the summer, which he thought had a lot to do with it. As simple as this sounded, it really got me thinking about my own dating patterns.

When I think back and do a count, I've dated 8 women over the past 3 years. I'm pretty sure I'm not forgetting anybody. I'm not including my Tantra instructor, my married swinging friends who invited me over for "play time", the lady in the back room of that bordello in that foreign country, or the various cyber flirts that I came so close to meeting in person (but didn't). These weren't dates. But anyway, of the 8, I met 7 of them on-line. Two were women that I emailed first, the other 5 emailed me first. I knew five from the same longhaired men site, one through a Satanism site, and one from a personal ads site.

So what about the 8th one? I met her at a party. And it was coincidentally the only one of the 8 that I dated during the summer.

Or is it coincidental? Maybe I'm just used to women approaching me first, and most of them do this when it's winter and they're inside trying to keep warm. And since they're inside, they spend more time on-line. Or is that over-simplifying the whole reason why I don't happen to date over the summer? I don't know, but it's a new found part of the equation.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>