February 04, 2005
9:21 PM

Happy Birthday, Alice Cooper


Thank you for all those decades of emotionally-driving, excellent music. Music that spans just about every genre out there. Music that was the soundtrack to my teenage years, and still shows up as a soundtrack for different personal life events since. So very, very few people in my life have even heard anything of yours. Aside from my highschool sweetheart and the ones I met through the internet, the only Alice fans I've ever really known are the ones I successfully "converted" into fans. It was just you and me. I didn't care that I was the only one I knew who owned albums like "From the Inside" and played them to death.

Thank you for incredible concerts that keep me on-edge, and unlike so many other performers I could mention, actually include setlists that CHANGE from time to time. I really, really wish more would take after your example and dig up their obscure songs from the back catalog, just for the die-hard fans like me who aren't particularly interested in a night of "greatest hits". My ninth show (out of 10 total) had to be one of the most incredible concerts I have ever been to. I remember screaming along with each and every song, sweaty long hair sticking to my face, fist in the air.

Thank you for taking the time to be there signing autographs so that I could meet you in person. Thanks for signing all my stuff. It was one of the happiest moments of my life. I finally had a chance to talk face to face with the creator of so many things that have given my life great pleasure. Thank you for having much more creativity and intelligent humor than Marilyn Manson, even if he is part of my church. I still admire your choice to not preach, but to also stand up for your beliefs when questioned.

When people flew off the handle upon reading the interviews where you freely speak your religious views, I stayed my ground. I didn't burn my albums or stop supporting you. FUCK Tom and Dick (no, there was no Harry). FUCK them trying their damndest to imply that I should stop listening to you because of this religious politics thing. They're no worse and no less pleasure-denying than the evangelist nuts who burn records because of some Satanic reference they don't like. Fuck them, fuck them, fuck them...and that that stupid series of posts on that flame-filled mailing list. And fuck the way things are, making me restricted from playing your stuff on my show.

Thank you Alice for writing songs that make me laugh. Thank you for the songs that make me damn near cry. Thank you for the songs that direct my strength in anger. Thank you for the demented songs that scare the shit out of me. Thank you for your oddly sophmoric yet brilliant lyrics. Thank you for the larger-than-life stage character that does all these things. Thank you, Alice Cooper, for being born.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>