September 09, 2004
2:32 PM

Thank you all for your resumes: Sri, Milind, Venkata, Muzaffar...


Powers from above are really, really pushing to get this project all done at work. My boss isn't trying to be an asshole; he's STRESSED. Fortunately they realize that it's not humanly possible for me to do all the work. So they're bringing in a few contractors for a month or two.

My current manager is from India. Ditto for the majority of people he managers. And it sounds like everybody we've interviewed for this new position so far is from India too. Now I have in no way ever felt like a white victim with him. I genuinely like working under him and working with the other guys too. But isn't this racial disproportion just a BIT curious, even to the most left-wing, PC-minded individual?

Is my boss a racist? Is he racially biased and will only deal with "his own kind"? Actually, I think there might be another explaination. All of these new hires, including some of the guys currently under him, are from the same hiring agency. It could be that this headhunting agency sends all the Indian applicants his way. Maybe they assume they'll have a better chance of landing a job if the hirer is from the same minority.

Is this a subject I can bring up without sounding racist? There must be some delicate way of putting this. "Say, boss, do you think these guys are being a bit...let us say, racially selective, in who they send you?"

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>