August 03, 2004
2:26 AM

Quote & Alice


First, a quote from the movie PCU, for no other reason than the fact I like it:

Womynist: Look at this unbridled display of testosterone! Makes me sick!
Jock: What's up babes?
Womynist: Pack up your rape culture and take a hike!
Jock: Uh,
[holds up a beer] you want a brewdog?
Womynist: We're not interested in your penis!
Samantha: Wait, wait, I think he's offering us a beer. Um...
[turns to Jock, speaks slowly] 'Yes. We would like. *A* beer.'
Jock: Okay!
[Leaves to get beer]
Womynist:
[perplexed] It's like, if you're NICE to them, they BRING you things?
Samantha: Exactly.

In other news, I'm off to Canada this week. Still have a Powerpoint Presentation tomorrow. Ugh.

But last night...oh man. I went to see Alice Cooper for my 9th (and probably best) time. This blew Ozzfest right out of the water, no contest. He's been playing smaller venue shows, but lots of them right in the same areas. This was at the South Shore Music Circus. Somehow a round theatre that resembled a circus tent seemed most appropriate, in a really twisted way. I got tickets just last week on-line, and we weren't more that 15 feet from the stage.

This is one of those shows that was so damn good, I could literally have cried at some points. And as always, Alice pulled out some great rarities for the die-hard fans like me. I never ever thought I'd ever hear him play "Who Do You Think We Are?", one of my absolute favorite songs. I can't remember the last time I was that excited during one song at a show.

Other incredible surprises included Halo of Flies (where his daughter and stage hand Calico dressed up like Uma Thurman in "Kill Bill"), Gutter Cats vs. The Jets (with the gang that comes on stage...I wondered if some people were not sure whether or not this was part of the act!), Sick Things, Cold Ethyl, Muscle of Love, not to mention the entire first side of the "Killer" album, and 5 tracks from "Billion Dollar Babies". I'd go on and on about it, but it's 2:30 in the morning.

Mind-blowing show. So - fucking - incredible. My friend, who's probably been to as many concerts as I have (probably in the triple digits) said that this was easily one of the best concerts he'd ever been to, if not THE best.

Fuck Ozzy -- Alice Cooper is the king of hard rock. The guy's even older than Ozzy, so the "Ozzy's old" argument doesn't fly.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>