May 11, 2004
5:56 PM

Where does the time go?!?


Man, where DO the years go? Ever since I graduated and started working, it seems like months pass like mere hours. That song I wrote & recorded was over 4 months ago. Have I done anything since? My "new" bass is probably over a year old. Next month it will be 2 years since I moved in to my apartment, and there's still shit stacked up everywhere that has to be organized or thrown out. And this past Sunday, Sister C. told me that it had been a YEAR since we saw each other.

What's giving me this feeling that time's just constantly flying by? Maybe I don't have the old markers I used to have. Back in college, you knew when semesters were going to end and new years with new titles ("Junior", "Senior", etc.) begin in the fall. Now when I work, there's no such thing as having more than a week away from the place. I've always heard parents whimper about "Oh, our kids are growing up so fast; it seemed like just yesterday that we sent them to nursery school...", but I still bet that having somebody in the house who's going through this grade and that grade, serves as a decent time gague. The only kid I really see is CC's, and that kid's autistic, so he's been talking the same way for years. Sometimes I forget he isn't 3 anymore.

When does time seem to pass the slowest? I've noticed that it happens when I have a really event-filled couple of days. There have been times when I took vacation time, but just didn't do anything. I pretty much stayed at home and took advantage of getting to sleep late every day. By the time vacation would be over, I didn't feel that much time had passed. On the other hand, when I flew out to that wedding last fall, it hardly felt like the mere few days it took. That's always been the case too -- when I have a lot of events going on, the weekend feels much longer.

Time to start booking more get-aways! Or at least completion of more of these little projects of mine.

Still, I have to say, the effect must be tremendously worse for the many nine-to-fivers who have no life compared to mine. As I know I've mentioned in this journal in the past, I've always resisted falling into the daily cycle of work-dinner-TV-bed. I don't let sitcoms fill up my time; I strive to work on projects with tangible results.

I most certainly do not consider myself a party animal, but sad to say, the fact I actually go to the movies once in a while or just drive into the city on rare occasion DOES make me a party animal in the eyes of many shut-ins. There are the people who treat a trip to the mall as some arctic expedition. For them, I can't imagine how fast life passes them by. Come to think of it, the people of this type that I've met haven't really changed their wardrobes since high school.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>