August 18, 2003
12:30 PM

Vacation (part 2)


[continued from last entry]

WEDNESDAY:

I drove back and finally got to see Gloria on Wednesday night. We got dinner at a local Japanese place (eel is definitely one of my favorite foods now). Then we went to good ol' Manray. Not only was that our first time there together, but actually the first time we went out dancing. Hard to believe it hadn't happened yet. I make a third dare for myself by getting my third real drink in my life: a Jack and Coke. Bleaggh...definitely different tasting. Gloria ended up drinking half of it. I don't know if I'll get one of those again, at least not one of that strength. I gave her the gifts I bought her in New Hampshire. She crashed over.

THURSDAY:

We got breakfast before I drove her back. I can't remember what else I did this day, aside from having a very late dinner at the 99.

FRIDAY:

Off to Canobie Lake amusement park. And I was having such a great vacation, that I forgot that highways are usually clogged at 5:00pm on a Friday. So it was quite a wait. And the insanely heavy rain that I ran into in Vermont had apparently made its way down to southern New Hampshire. But I got through. I decided to first wait in line for their classic rollercoaster ride, the Cannonball. I hadn't been on the thing in years. And now I remembered why I never go on the thing when I come to Canobie Lake: it's a 45 minute wait! When I got on I was crouched down during one of the hills. Bad idea. My neck still hurts as I type this. I'd gone to first aid after the ride. Nothing was out of place. But "a man from Rides" came to talk to me, presumably to make sure I had no lawsuit. We'll see.

I decided to go to a late-night showing of Freddy vs. Jason. I had to be one of the oldest people there. Everybody else seemed to be aged 17-21. There was plenty of talking going on, but I had to realize that that's to be expected on an opening night. So I just went along with it. I can't remember the last time I saw that many people enjoying a movie. It was so fun, I'm glad I got to see it. Though I couldn't help but to notice the irony of all these teens coming to watch a a movie where a buch of teens get hacked up. To quote one stand-up comedian, "Freddy Krueger was great. He killed teenagers. 'Get em Freddy, get em!'"

Killing time before the movie, I decided to give Craig a call. Again. And as usual, he wasn't home. But this time I got his girlfriend, not the answering machine. She said he'd be working in Salem tomorrow.

SATURDAY:

Off to Salem. And lo and behold, Craig was not working there. This is really starting to piss me off, especially since he owes me some money I could really use. It was a very hot day. I checked out the pseudo-occult shops, in search for those things that may be of interest to me. I bought some stuff. At some point I spent most of my Newbury Comics credit at a Newbury Comics store or two. Newbury Comics mostly sells CDs and novelty items, not too many comics. But I did buy some comics at a store. I rented and watched a few movies that weekend. More of those movies I've been wanting to see: The Ring, Children of the Corn (saw it before, but that was over 10 years ago) and Brain Candy.

SUNDAY:

I awake to a call from the drummer boy. Him and the guitarist want to jam. Eh, why not. I catch up on email. I bring my new mandolin that night. I break a string the same way I broke that balalaika string: my own unaware tuning. I still have to wonder if this is going somewhere.

MONDAY:

Back to the grind. But I'm easing into it. And screwing around by writing all this up.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>