May 07, 2003
3:46 PM

Another jamming party


Last weekend was quite fun. Friday night included a trip with Craig to Lowell to see George Carlin. I've seen him, damn, I don't know how many times now. Six? It was pretty much the same material as the show I saw with Gloria last year, but this time I bootlegged it. And I'm not ripping off the arist; I buy everything of his anyway. But if something from one of my favorite entertainers is not available for sale, then I find other means. I do look forward to when this new stuff gets refined and put on his next album.

Saturday night included the annual spring party at that couple's house. I went to their last party in December, and this one had no less fun! The main band did their set, and I jumped to the bass during their intermission. A few keyboard players and a drummer were there, but this year there was also a flute player named Abdul. We winged "Blue Bossa", "All of Me", and some 12-bar blues. I heard the same complements as last year. "You guys were GREAT!" and "I can't believe none of you have ever played to gether before!" There was also the late-night jam after the band's second set. This year, though, there was another bass player there. So we took turns playing different songs. When I wasn't playing bass I jumped over to the drums or percussion. I can keep good time and hold a few stereotypical drum beats. It does come in handy at times like this. Even after the other bass player left, I chose the drums when the drummer was gone. When I see guests still dancing to the music, I figure that having drums is more important than having bass.

But that flute player, damn he was great. I was showing him my Real Book and we were flipping through it. He excitedly stopped at some of the photos and songs, and had stories to tell about them. We exchanged phone numbers. I told him that I would REALLY like to get some guys together to play some jazz.

Saturday morning and Sunday morning consisted of...SLEEP! Yes! I especially look forward to that now that the manager AND director are enforcing this bullshit requirement that everybody be here by 8:30AM. I don't know any other software testing job in the country that would require the same. And it's just this department, not a company-wide thing. I've been making it here on time, but needless to say I already slipped my resume to the ol' recuiting agency.

To quote what another employee said to me today, "You have a Masters in math? What are you doing in QA?"

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>