April 25, 2003
7:02 PM

Going to a movie? Whoah!


I decided to surf by my high school's alumni page. I forgot that I wrote some stuff in my profile there. So I updated it. I'm sure alumni will be tuning in with the 10-year reunion coming up. Asterisks denote parts I'm leaving out for this public diary entry:

Still a long-haired, bass-playin' heathen. But you know how the rest of the story goes: went to college (****), enjoyed it tremendously more than high school (no offense), got a couple of degrees (BS Mathematical Sciences '97, MS Applied Mathematics '98), joined a few national organizations and held some offices (**** fraternity, **** math honors society, Mensa), got a career (software QA), moved somewhere else (****). As for the ambitions I listed in the Class of 1993 year book ("To be on the front cover of Bass Player magazine and tour with Alice Cooper"), well...I did get a letter printed, and I did get to meet Alice several times. Good enough for me.

In other news, I hung out with Chris a few nights ago. Man, he can really piss me off. Some of it has to do with that annoying feelings everybody has with their best friends; when you know somebody that well, you get to know all their bad qualities too. I remember times at my fraternity house when no matter who was running for office, you'd hear at least one con about a nominated candidate. But still, some of my bugs with Chris have to do with...Chris. I should not have to take my "best friend" by the fucking hand just to go out.

I did try though. I did try to force him, for his own good, to actually call the shots and make the plans. "Uh, so, dude, did you still want to go see Episode II at the IMax theatre, like you said?" "If you want to do that Chris, sure, I'm up for it. Just tell me when you want to go. Here's the website where you can find the schedule and the directions." A week later: "So are we still hooking up some time?" "As per our last email, Chris, I've been waiting for you to pick a time to see Episode II." "Oh, my bad. I'm not working on Wednesday. You pick the time." Aaauughh!

Why do I have a social life and he doesn't? It's not because I'm a bachelor and he's a father. As I've said before, my parents knew how to balance their responsibilities, and enjoyed an incredible social life with lots of people. It's certainly not because he's married -- his wife WANTS him to quit sulking and enjoy a night out with his male friends. I think the reason for the contrast between Chris and I is quite simple: I can plan and prepare to go to a fucking event. Going to the movies and TGI Friday's should not be seen as an Arctic expedition! It's not like I'm organizing a royal family wedding here. Hell, it's not like I'm even planning a weekend vacation getaway. It's going to see a fucking movie and eating at a fucking restaurant! Is this process REALLY a mystery to some people?

And that's how it goes when I hang out with Chris. I do the planning. I buy the concert tickets. I'm buying everything else. The guy does have money now -- that's the kicker. He just never thinks of bringing any WITH him. Folks, if you're planning on going out, CARRY SOME CASH! Given the overwhelming availability (let alone the invention itself) of the ATM, you have no excuse to be whining well into the night "I only have plastic on me!"

Why do I bother? It mostly has to do with the longevity of the friendship. I know there's some underlying guilty feeling of obligation underneath. I'm not going to start ignoring his emails or anything like that. But next time he wants to hang out, he's going to have to act like he does really want to be there.

Oh, and for the record, I did enjoy House of 1000 Corpses.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>