April 05, 2003
11:58 PM

The Return of the Young Guitarist Jam


Craig blew me off. AGAIN. No surprise. Why do I put up with this shit? "Because he's a dork who loves you" his girlfriend says. Weekends are really cherished when you do the M-through-F work thing. And it pisses me off when I set aside a night to do something, and end up staying in the whole time because the person who made the plans with be is suddenly out of town.

A few weeks ago I came home to a surpise essage on my answering machine. Joe Guitarplayer called. He's the guy I jammed with once last summer, but that thing sort of faded away. Now he's hooked up with a singer who plays rhythm guitar (and it turns out, enough drums to keep a song going). And they could still use a bass player.

So I looked up the directions to his house again, and went there again. The difference this time was that a whole other room in the basement was cleared and set up for a practice room. A crappy but usable drum kit was in one corner. A multi-track recorder was in another corner. Various little combo amps, including a bass one, were in yet another. We jammed on the same kinds of songs as before: Led Zeppelin, Derek and the Dominoes stuff, Black Crowes, and more Led Zeppelin. I was certainly having fun, going through those songs I knew and playing my new bass with other musicians for the first time. They had originals too, which I picked up on with the help of some scribbled chord charts. The original were simple progression-based rock songs, obviously influenced by the bands they liked. I got together a second time with them two days later.

Of course, I did have that nagging voice in the back of my mind. "Is this really what I should be doing? This is the kind of stuff I was doing when I was 15...Led Zeppelin covers and 'Crazy Train' in somebody's basement of their parents' house? All arrogance aside here, aren't I more advanced than this?" Well, the fact of the matter is I'm simply not doing anything otherwise. The self-song writing thing has been going forever slow. I'm in no other bands. And the thing with Craig, forget it.

It's worth sticking around with this for a few more months. We'll see where this goes. I can't say I dislike the idea of playing a bunch of rock covers at a party, with just my practice amp to bring.

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>