March 24, 2003
7:07 PM

New Toy -- A 00 Warwick. Ho-hum.


I was at the music store for a few hours on Saturday. Mostly waiting around for the long process of trading. I finally traded in two of my basses, the Jackson 5 String and the Ibanez Fretless, and got a 5 String Warwick. I found one that wasn't too earthy sounding. The bridge and neck are adjustable in every which way, so I do have the option of changing the feel of it if I think it feels funny to play. I still kept my original. So now I have 3 basses: the original ol' Peavy Patriot (with the added hipshot), my tiny D'armond Ashbury, and the new Warwick. The two that I traded in were great, but I know I can find better.

I wanted to sell my ancient Digitech DSP 128+ effects rack, but they wouldn't take it. Apparently they (the people in the back room that the floor guy was corresponding with) looked at the dent and decided they didn't want it. Even though that dent never prevented the thing from working. Though at the moment it was not working. Rather than get it fixed for some price that was greater what the unit itself would sell for, I just bought another rack. It's the next one up from that model, the 256 XL. Not so ancient, and it was only $80 there. The guy doing the guitar deals with me tried to sell me a $400 bass fx module instead. Didn't this fucker already get a big enough deal from me, with the bass I was buying? Wasn't that enough commission? Dink.

They took $25 for the Rockman unit, which is good because I don't think I was ever able to plug it in and try it out (no AC adapter), and I bought it years ago for something like $10. Rounding the final number up, the guy gave me $500 to put towards the new bass. I know I could have gotten more money if I tried to sell them directly to people, but that's usually a pain in the ass.

So now I have my original bass, a tiny weird bass, a state-of-the-art $1000+ bass, a case of universal racks (compression, signal processing, EQ), a few of my bass pedals, and my original bass amp with the 12" speaker. And musically...well I'm basically at the same stage I was a month ago.

After Gloria left this weekend I was really bored. Even with my new toys. So I rented some movies. These days I usually try to rent one of those movies I've been wanting to see for years, but never got around to. This time it was The Sting and The Graduate. I really liked The Graduate, but through the whole ending all I could think about was Wayne's World II! I knew that wedding sequence was a parody of some movie, but I didn't realize how long and detailed the parody went.

Now I'm off to Harvard Square. My brother is playing at the usual grand place. Lots of stuff over there, but I usually find myself having a shitty time whenever I go. Well, we'll see if this goes different.

I'm glad to be having a 4 day work week. I'm taking Friday off as a vacation day. Time for my annual duty for my Fraternity's hell week. Too bad I can't write about it. :P

�

previous - next

� Older Entries � � Latest Entry � � Email � � profile � � http://www.diaryland.com �

�


And all those damn diary rings:
Hell yeah I'm a guy!
<< � random � list � home � >>
Longhair
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Police Fans
<< � random � list � home � >>
I am not a teen
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Pro-Choice Ring
<< � random � list/home � >>
I am not a goth
<< � random � list � home � >>
Pleasure Seeker.
Hedonist Diaryring:
<< � random � list/home � >>
I know how to spell.
<< � random � list/home � >>
Butt Rockers Unite!
<< � random � list � home � >>
The Black Sabbath Diaryring
<< Osbourne � Dio � Gillan � Hughes � Martin >>
The Def Leppard Diaryring
<< � random � list/home � >>
The Marx Brothers Diaryring
<< Groucho � Harpo � Chico � Zeppo >>
About a 2 on the Kinsey Scale
<< � random � list � home � >>
Massachusetts
<< � random � list/home � >>